Two levels of approval workflow

Depending on the status of the item you have opened for editing, you have different options in accordance with your workflow rights.

For example, if you have opened for editing a page in status Awaiting approval and you are an approver who is allowed to skip the workflow, the tables below will list your available options, as well as the resulting status of the page, after your actions.

New items

Pages and content items: If you are creating a new item or page, you have the following options:

Available options (buttons) Resulting status
When you are not allowed to skip the workflow
  • Send for Approval
Awaiting approval
  • More actions » Save as Draft

    For content items: Save as Draft

Draft
  • More actions » Delete

    For content items: You have option More Options » Delete, only if you have already saved the item as Draft. 

Moved to the Recycle Bin
When you are allowed to skip the workflow
  • Publish
Published
  • Save as Draft
Draft
  • More actions » Send for Approval

    For content items: More Options » Send for Approval

Awaiting approval
  • More actions » Publish/Unpublish on Specific Date

    For content items: More Options » Schedule publish/unpublish

Scheduled publish/unpublish on...
  • More actions » Delete

    For content items: You have option More Options » Delete, only if you have already saved the item as Draft.

Moved to the Recycle Bin

Media items: If you are uploading a new media item, such as an image, you have the following options:

Available options (buttons) Resulting status
When you are not allowed to skip the workflow
  • Upload and Send for Approval
Awaiting approval
  • Upload and Save as Draft
Draft
When you are allowed to skip the workflow
  • Upload and Send for Approval
Awaiting approval
  • Upload and Save as Draft
Draft
  • Publish
Published
  • More actions » Publish/Unpublish on Specific Date
Scheduled publish/unpublish on...

Items in status Awaiting approval

If you are editing an item or page in status Awaiting approval, you have the following options:

Available options (buttons) Resulting status
When you are not allowed to skip the workflow
  • Send for Publishing
Awaiting publishing
  • Reject
Rejected
  • More actions » Save as Awaiting approval

    For content items: More Options » Save as Awaiting approval

Awaiting approval
  • More actions » Delete

    For content items: More Options » Delete

Moved to the Recycle Bin
When you are allowed to skip the workflow
  • Publish
Published
  • Reject
Rejected
  • More actions » Save as Awaiting approval

    For content items: More Options » Save as Awaiting approval

Awaiting approval
  • More actions » Send for Publishing

    For content items: More Options » Send forPublishing

Awaiting publishing
  • More actions » Publish/Unpublish on Specific Date

    For content items: More Options » Schedule publish/unpublish

Scheduled publish/unpublish on...
  • More actions » Delete

    For content items: More Options » Delete

Moved to the Recycle Bin

Items in status Awaiting publishing

If you are editing an item or page in status Awaiting publishing, you have the following options:

Available options (buttons) Resulting status
  • Publish
Published
  • Reject
Rejected for publishing
  • More actions » Save as Awaiting publishing

    For content items: More Options » Save as Awaiting publishing

Awaiting publishing
  • More actions » Publish/Unpublish on Specific Date

    For content items: More Options » Schedule publish/unpublis

Scheduled publish/unpublish on...
  • More actions » Delete

    For content items: More Options » Delete

Moved to the Recycle Bin

Items in status Published

If you are editing an item or page in status Published, you have the following options:

Available options (buttons) Resulting status
When you are not allowed to skip the workflow
  • Send for Approval

    For media items: Send for Review

Awaiting approval (newer than published)
  • Save as Draft
Draft (newer than published)
  • More actions » Unpublish

    For content items: More Options » Unpublish 

Unpublished
  • More actions » Delete

    For content items: More Options » Delete

Moved to the Recycle Bin
When you are allowed to skip the workflow
  • Publish
Published
  • Save as Draft
Draft (newer than published)
  • More actions » Send for Approval

    For content items: More Options » Send for Approval

    For media items: Send for Review

Awaiting approval (newer than published)
  • More actions » Unpublish

    For content items: More Options » Unpublish

Unpublished
  • More actions » Publish/Unpublish on Specific Date

    For content items: More Options » Schedule publish/unpublish

Scheduled publish/unpublish on.
  • More actions » Delete

    For content items: More Options » Delete

Moved to the Recycle Bin

Items in status Draft, Unpublished, or Rejected

If you are editing an item or page in status Draft, Unpublished, or Rejected you have the following options:

Available options (buttons) Resulting status
When you are not allowed to skip the workflow
  • Send for Approval
Awaiting approval
  • More actions » Save as Draft

    For content and media items: Save as Draft

Draft
  • More actions » Delete

    For content items: More Options » Delete

Moved to the Recycle Bin
When you are allowed to skip the workflow
  • Publish
Published
  • Save as Draft
Draft
  • More actions » Send for Approval

    For content items: More Options » Send for Approval

Awaiting approval
  • More actions » Publish/Unpublish on Specific Date

    For content items: More Options » Schedule publish/unpublish

Scheduled publish/unpublish on...
  • More actions » Delete

    For content items: More Options » Delete

Moved to the Recycle Bin

Items in status Rejected for publishing

An item can be in status Rejected for publishing, which means that it was rejected when it was Awaiting publishing on the second level of the workflow. If you are editing an item or page in status Rejected for publishing, you have the following options:

Available options (buttons) Resulting status
When you are not allowed to skip the workflow
  • Send for Publishing
Awaiting publishing
  • Reject
Rejected
  • More actions » Save as Awaiting approval

    For content items: More Options » Save as Awaiting approval

Awaiting approval
  • More actions » Delete

    For content items: More Options » Delete

Moved to the Recycle Bin
When you are allowed to skip the workflow
  • Publish
Published
  • Reject
Rejected
  • More actions » Save as Awaiting approval

    For content items: More Options » Save as Awaiting approval 

Awaiting approval
  • More actions » Send for Publishing

    For content items: More Options » Send for Publishing

Awaiting publishing
  • More actions » Publish/Unpublish on Specific Date

    For content items: More Options » Schedule publish/unpublish

Scheduled publish/unpublish on...
  • More actions » Delete

    For content items: More Options » Delete

Moved to the Recycle Bin

Items in status Scheduled

Pages and media items: If you are editing a page or a media item in status Scheduled, you have the following options:

Available options (buttons) Resulting status
When you are not allowed to skip the workflow
  • Publish
Published
  • More actions » Stop Schedule

The item returns to the status that is was when it was scheduled.

  • More actions » Save as Draft
Draft
  • More actions » Delete
Moved to the Recycle Bin
When you are allowed to skip the workflow
  • Publish
Published
  • Save as Draft
Draft
  • More actions » Stop Schedule
The item returns to the status that is was when it was scheduled.
  • More actions » Delete
Moved to the Recycle Bin

Content items: If you are editing a content item in status Scheduled, you have the following options:

Available options (buttons) Resulting status
  • Stop Schedule
The item returns to the status that is was when it was scheduled.
  • Publish
Published
  • Save as Draft
Draft
  • More Options » Schedule publish/unpublish
Scheduled publish/unpublish on...
  • More Options » Delete
Moved to the Recycle Bin

Was this article helpful?