Import and delete content from add-ons

When you create an add-on, you can choose to include in it not only structure, but also content. You can includes News items, Blogs, Blog posts, Events, Lists, Dynamic content items, Pages, Taxonomies, Taxa, Libraries, Images, Videos, Documents. When you are activating an add-on on another site, you can choose whether you want to include the content that is coming with the add-on, or you can only activate the structures that come with it. 

EXAMPLE: You have an add-on that consists of a dynamic module with one dynamic type and some content items in it. It also has one page that has the dynamic content widget on it, which displays the dynamic content items. If you activate only the add-on, without importing the content, only the dynamic module, its dynamic type, and its configurations will be created on the new site. The dynamic type will not have any content items in it and there will be no page displaying these items.

You can import and delete content coming from an add-on at any time. Once deleted, you can reimport the same content.

Import content and pages

If, upon add-on activation, you have not imported the content of the add-on, but only its structures, you can do this later. 

PREREQUISITES: Upon add-on activation, you have not selected Import sample content and pages checkbox.

To import content from an active add-on, perform the following:

  1. Select the site where you want to activate the add-on.
  2. Navigate to Administration » Add-ons.
  3. Click the add-on whose content you want to import.
    A summary page appears, listing the contents of the add-on.
  4. Click Import.
    All content items that are part of the add-on are imported to the default provider of the corresponding module for the site.
    Content includes News items, Blogs, Blog posts, Events, Lists, Dynamic content items, Pages, Taxonomies, Taxa, Libraries, Images, Videos, Documents.

NOTE: Once the content is imported in one site of a multisite Sitefinity CMS instance, it cannot be imported to any other site of the multisite instance. If you want to use the content on another site of the instance, you must share the providers for the respective modules. For more information, see Share content providers of modules.

Delete imported content and pages

If, upon add-on activation, you have imported content and pages, you can delete them at a later time, in case you do not need them.

PREREQUISITES: Upon add-on activation, you have selected Import sample content and pages checkbox.

To delete the initially imported content of an add-on, perform the following:

  1. Select the site where you want to activate the add-on.
  2. Navigate to Administration » Add-ons.
  3. Click the add-on whose sample content you want to delete.
    A summary page appears, listing the contents of the add-on.
  4. Click Delete imported content and pages » Delete.
    All content and pages are deleted from the respective default providers. Content is permanently deleted and does not go to the Recycle Bin.
    If you delete the content of the add-on from any of the sites in a multisite instance, it will not be available in any other site, because it is deleted from a shared provider.

NOTE: The system deletes only content that was part of the add-on and is imported upon activation. It does not delete any other content from the add-on's modules that you have later created.

Was this article helpful?