Define workflows

  1. Navigate to Administration » Workflow.
  2. Click Define a workflow.
  3. In Name input field, enter a name for the workflow.
  4. Define the scope of the workflow.
    Define where the workflow applies, by performing the following:
    1. Click Define scope button.
    2. If you have multisite instance, in Site dropdown box, select the site where you want to define an approval workflow.
    3. If you have multilingual site, in Languages dropdown box, select the language for which you want to apply an approval workflow.
    4. In Content types and pages, select the content items or pages that you want to push through the workflow.
      The selector displays all built-in and dynamic content types and pages.

      If you have selected a particular site, you can also select particular pages where you want to apply the current workflow. Select Pages checkbox, click Change, and select the desired pages.

    5. If you SELECT ALL content types and pages, the workflow automatically applies the same workflow to all newly created dynamic types.
      If you do not want this, deselect Apply to all newly created content types checkbox.
    6. When finished defining the scope, click Done.
  5. Choose the type of workflow that you want to create.
    Select one of the following:
    • One level
      This workflow inserts one intermediate step of approval between the standard lifecycle workflow of creating and publishing.
      In this case, the workflow consist of create, send for approval, and publish a content item or page
    • Two levels
      This workflow inserts two intermediate steps of approval between the standard lifecycle workflow of creating and publishing.
      In this case the workflow consist of create, send for approval, send for publishing, and publish a content item or page.
    • Three levels
      This workflow inserts three intermediate steps of approval between the standard lifecycle workflow of creating and publishing.
      In this case the workflow consist of create, send for review, send for approval, send for publishing, and publish a content item or page.
    • No approval workflow
      In this case, there are no approval steps between creating and publishing a content item or page.
  6. After you have chosen the type of workflow, set the approvers by clicking Next: Set approvers.
    If you have chosen No approval workflow, click Done.

    The Approvers window appears. Under Roles tab, the system displays all available roles, under Users, the system displays all created users. You can also choose the provider for users and roles.

    1. Select one or more Roles or Users that will have the right to approve content items or pages and click Done.

      IMPORTANT: Make sure that the users set as approvers have permissions to create and modify the respective content

      NOTE: The Administrators role is set as approver by default. It is not displayed in Select roles or users.

    2. If you have more than one level of approval, click Next and select the approvers for each level.
  7. Choose how to send notifications.
    For each level of approval, you can set notifications.

    PREREQUISITES: In order for the system to be able to send emails, you must configure the Default notification profile. For more information, see Administration: Configure notification profiles.

    Click Actions » Set notifications, select one or more of the following, and click Done:

    • Approvers
      All users that are set as approvers will receive email notification whenever an item or page is on the respective level of approval.
    • Administrators
      All users in the Administrator's role will receive email notification whenever an item or page is on the respective level of approval.
    • Custom list of email addresses...
      Enter the emails of the users that you want to receive notifications whenever an item or page is on the respective level of approval.
  8. Choose who can skip the workflow.
    Under Allow workflow to be skipped by... section, you have Administrator and the Approvers selected by default. This means that they do not have to go through the workflow when creating or editing a page or a content item.

    NOTE: For more than one level of approval workflow, the approvers for the first level are not able to skip the workflow. In this case, only the the Approvers from the second level are allowed to use the standard workflow.

  9. To apply the workflow, select This workflow is active checkbox.
  10. When finished, click Save workflow.
    The workflow becomes active immediately after you save it.

Was this article helpful?

Next article

Edit workflows