Permissions by Users or Roles

  1. On Permissions page, click one of the following:
    • To change permissions of a role, click Roles.
    • To change permission of a user, click Users.
  2. From the dropdown box, select the group of roles or users whose permissions you want to change.
    A list of all roles or users belonging to this group appears.
    You can search for specific roles or users by using the search field.
  3. Click the role or user whose permissions you want to change.
    A list of actions, grouped in sections, together with the respective permissions for the role or user appears.
    • If a role has permission for a certain action, the system displays  in column Allow.
    • If a role does not have permission for a certain action, nothing is displayed in column Allow.
    • If a role is explicitly denied permission for a certain action, the system displays a column Deny and displays  in the column.
  4. To change permissions of a role or a user, click Change button of the respective group of permissions.
    A window appears where you can perform the following:
    • Explicitly grant or implicitly deny permissions.
      If a role has not been explicitly denied permission for an action, the system displays only column Allow containing checkboxes for each action. If a checkbox is selected, the role has permissions for this action. If it is unselected, the role does not have permission for this action.
      1. To grant or deny permissions of the role, select or deselect the checkboxes of the respective action.
      2. When you finish, click Done button.
    • Explicitly deny permissions.
      If a role has already been explicitly denied permission for an action in the group of actions, the system displays column Allow and column Deny. Otherwise, the system displays only column Allow.
      1. To explicitly deny permissions, you must display column Deny by clicking the Show link, at the bottom of the window.
      2. To explicitly deny or no longer explicitly deny permission for an action, select or deselect the checkbox of the respective action in column Deny.
      3. When you finish, click Done button.

NOTE: You cannot change the permission of the Administrators role.

Was this article helpful?