Permissions by section

You can change permissions per section. You can allow and deny to certain users or roles to perform different actions with a section. For example, allow all users of a certain role to edit News items.

To manage permissions by sections, navigate to Administration » Permissions and in the toolbar, click by Section

Review permissions

When you click a section, a list of actions for this section appears. For each action the following is displayed:
  • The users who have permission for this action.

    NOTE: If there are no users displayed, it does not mean that nobody can perform the action. All users that belong to the roles that have permission for the action inherit the permissions from this role.

  • The roles that have permission for this action.
  • The users who are explicitly denied permission for this action.
  • The roles that are explicitly denied permission for this action.

NOTE: By default, the Administrators role has permission for all actions and the Administrators role is not displayed in the list of roles and users who have permission for the action. Only in case there are no other roles or users who have permission, under the action the system displays Administrators only.

Change permissions

  1. To change the permissions for an action, click Change.
    A window appears.
    • To grant permissions to a group of users, choose between the following:
      • Administrators only
      • all Backend users
      • Everyone
    • To grant permissions to a selected user or role, perform the following:
      1. Select the Selected roles or users radio button.
      2. Click Add roles or users button.
        A window appears.
      3. To add a role or user, click Roles or Users tab.
        A list of roles or users appears.
      4. Select the checkbox of one or more roles or users to whom you want to grant permission for the action and click Done selecting.
        You can filter the list of roles or users, by using the dropdown box in the upper-right corner of the window or the search field.
      5. The roles and users that you have selected, appear below the Selected roles or users radio button.
    • To implicitly deny permissions to a role or user, click  icon of the respective role or user.
    • To explicitly deny permissions to a role or user, perform the following:
      1. In Advanced section, select the Explicitly deny this to selected roles and users... checkbox.
      2. Click Add roles or users button.
        A window appears.
      3. To explicitly deny permissions to a role or user, click Roles or Users tab.
        A list of roles or users appears.
      4. Select the checkbox of one or more roles or users to whom you want to explicitly deny permission for the action and click Done selecting.
        You can filter the list of roles or users, by using the dropdown box in the upper-right corner of the window or the search field.
      5. For more information about explicit and implicit deny, see Overview: Permissions.
  2. When you are finished changing permissions, click Done.

IMPORTANT: If a user is explicitly granted permission for an action, but one or more of the user's roles are explicitly denied permission for this action, then the user does not have permission for the action.

Permissions and shared content providers

In you have multisite, for all content modules, you can have more than one content provider. If you have more than one content provider for a particular section, you can select the provider for which you want to change permissions. For example, if your News module uses two content providers, you can select the provider whose permissions you want to change.
For more information, see Share content providers of modules.

After you open a section to change its permissions, use the dropdown box to select the content provider.
If the provider is used in more than one site, you can also use the link next to the dropdown box to review the sites where the permission change will affect.

Was this article helpful?