The Recycle bin is a Sitefinity CMS module that stores deleted objects and allows the user to restore previously deleted data items. You can delete items permanently either manually or using an automatic schedule.
The Recycle bin has the following advantages:
When the Recycle bin module is active and an item of the supported types is deleted through the user interface, the item is automatically moved to the recycle bin until you either restore or permanently delete the item from there.
To enable and activate the Recycle bin module, perform the following:
NOTE: Disabling the Recycle bin from the settings page does not disable the module. You can still open the Recycle bin and restore deleted items, but newly deleted items are no longer sent to the recycle bin, instead they are permanently deleted.
To open the Recycle bin, in Sitefinity's backend navigate the Dashboard and in the upper-right corner, click Recycle Bin. You can also access the Recycle Bin on each content module page. The link is located in the right pane.
The grid of the Recycle bin page lists items that are not permanently deleted. Administrators can see deleted items from all users, the other users see only items deleted by them.
When you delete items from the Recycle bin, the items are permanently deleted. You can do this in one of the following ways:
With the Recycle bin, you can restore items, which are deleted by mistake. You can do this in one of the following ways:
The Recycle bin has a few options for sorting and filtering the listed items:
Recycling of content (moving content to the Recycle bin upon deletion) is currently supported for the following content types:
Pages, News, Events, Blog posts, Dynamic content type items, Media items
Dynamic content types (hierarchical)
The blog post item is moved to the Recycle bin.
Multilingual (similar to the supported recyclable types)
Restore a single item
In case of URL duplication, restoration of the item is not allowed.
In case of a missing parent of the deleted page, restoration is possible and the page is restored to root level. This applies only to pages whose parent is in the Recycle bin or is permanently deleted.
In case the parent of the dynamic content item is in the Recycle bin as well, when you try to restore the child, a message is displayed saying you must restore the parent item before the child item.
The item is restored to its state prior the deletion.
Restoring the parent restores all its separately recycled child items as well.
Restore multiple selected items
The selected items are restored to their state prior the deletion.
If all items are successfully restored, no message is displayed.
Delete multiple selected items from the Recycle bin
The selected items are permanently deleted.
Permanently deleting dynamic content parents deletes permanently all its separately recycled child items as well.
Empty the Recycle bin
Sign up for our free beginner training. Boost your credentials through advanced courses and certification. Register for Sitefinity training and certification.
To submit feedback, please update your cookie settings and allow the usage of Functional cookies.
Your feedback about this content is important