You use the Content block widget to enter content using the text editor and its features. You can use the basic HTML editing engine of the text editor, such as basic text formatting, inserting hyperlinks, lists, and handling images. The widget outputs identical HTML across all major browsers, as well as follows accessibility standards and provides API for content manipulation.
For more information about the editor, see Kendo UI Editor.
To open the widget designer, click the Edit button in the upper-right corner of the widget. In the Simple view, you can add, modify, and format the content the widget is displaying.
You can specify additional properties to the control by clicking the Advanced button in the designer:
With the Content block widget you can reuse already created and shared content and you can also share the content that you entered in the text editor. Shared content is stored in the Content blocks module.
IMPORTANT: The changes you make to the shared content apply to all pages, where the content is displayed. In addition, shared content blocks do not have workflow. When you edit a content block, the change is immediately visible on all pages and templates that use the content block.
You can always share the content again and reuse it across other pages. For details, see the next section.
By sharing a Content block, you can:
Do the following:
When the content block widget is displaying shared content, its title bar looks in the following way:
If you are using multiple site management and the Generic content module uses data sources from more than one site, when you share a content block, is saved in the data source of the current site.
For more information, see Multisite.
If your site is multilingual and the page you are editing is synchronized with another translation, when you edit the widget, the Save to all translations button appears. If you click it, the current widget configuration will be saved to all translations, else, if you click Save, the widget configuration is saves only to the current translation, but the pages are still synchronized. If your pages are synchronized, you can have different widget configurations, but you cannot have different widgets.
Sign up for our free beginner training. Boost your credentials through advanced courses and certification. Register for Sitefinity training and certification.
To submit feedback, please update your cookie settings and allow the usage of Functional cookies.
Your feedback about this content is important