Activate and deactivate modules

In order to save memory, you can disable certain modules or services that you do not use for your website. The less modules and services load – the faster the startup times.

Use this procedure to manage modules in Sitefinity CMS. Using this section of the administration, you can install and uninstall Sitefinity CMS modules and also activate and deactivate them. For example, you can deactivate the News module or Sitefinity CMS Analytics, or you can completely uninstall the Events module.

You manage a module, on Modules & Services page.
To open the page, click Administration » Modules & Services.
A list of all Active, Inactive, and Not installed modules and services appears.

  • To deactivate a module, click its Actions link and then click Deactivate.
    Confirm the operation.
    Use this operation to temporarily hide a module, its backend pages, widgets, content types, etc. If you then choose to activate the module again, all of its attributes become visible again configured the same way as before the deactivation.

    To activate a deactivated module, click its Actions link and then click Activate.

  • To uninstall a module, click its Actions link and then click Uninstall.
    To uninstall a module, you must first deactivate it.
    Use this operation to physically remove all the backend pages, the widgets on any pages, etc. All configuration files are also deleted. If you later decide to install the module, you will lose all configurations, including widgets, and backend pages. The database and database tables are preserved.

    To install an uninstalled module, click its Actions link and then click Install.

  • To delete a module, click its Actions link and then click Delete.
    To delete a module, you must first uninstall it.
    Use this operation to physically delete the module from the list of modules, to delete its configurations, backend pages, widgets, etc. The database and database tables are preserved. After that, you cannot see the module in the list of all modules.

    To install a deleted module, use the Install a module button in the toolbar.

If you have multiple sites, when you deactivate, uninstall, or delete a module, the action applies to all of your sites and you will not be able to select this module for future sites.

IMPORTANT: We do not recommend deactivating the Scheduling module. By doing this, you will not be able to schedule content items and pages for publishing or unpublishing, but you will also loose many other system functions. Many of the others' modules functionality relays on the Scheduling module. This includes SiteSync, Email campaigns, Recycle bin, some libraries options, and others.

NOTE: You can also install any other module by installing the .dll using the Install a module button in the toolbar.
Enter a name and description for the module, and enter its type. For example, MyModuleProject.MyModule. Choose when to activate the module and click Save.

Was this article helpful?