Tracking consent

Tracking consent enables you to stop tracking particular users, using cookies, if the user has not explicitly allowed tracking. Tracking consent works by displaying a Tracking consent dialog to the user the first time the users interacts with a site from a particular domain. It allows the user to either accept or decline tracking. If the user does not interact with the dialog, it will be displayed on every other page.

You use the Tracking consent functionality, if, for example, you do not want to gather statistical data that contains personal information, such as IP addresses, names, email addresses, posts on social networks, etc. Sitefinity CMS has several modules and connectors that gather such information. These are, for example, the Sitefinity CMS Analytics module, DEC and Marketo connectors. If you have created a custom cookie that is unique and is attached to a user in order to identify her or him, this can also be considered personal information.

Scope of Tracking consent

If the Tracking consent is enabled and the user has declined tracking, the following functionality will stop to gather statistics:

  • Sitefinity Analytics module
  • Oracle Eloqua connector
  • DEC connector, if configured
  • Marketo connector, if configures
  • Internal Sitefinity CMS page visit tracking 
    It is part of the internal logging service and is used by the personalization module.
  • Custom trackers
    You can also programmatically stop any custom trackers that you have created.

Display the Tracking consent dialog

Tracking consent user choice is saved in cookie sf-tracking-consent on the client’s browser. The cookie expires in 9999 days. After you have turned it on, if the user has neither accepted nor declined, the default behavior of the Sitefinity CMS is as if the user has not consented to tracking.

The user will be displayed a dialog only the first time he or she hits any page from a particular domain and the choice will be saved in the cookie.
The user will be displayed the dialog again, only if she or he clears browser cookies.

However, you can programmatically change this behavior. If you think that at some particular point when browsing the website, a user, who has initially declined tracking, should be asked again whether tracking can be enabled, you can display again the Tracking consent dialog.
For more information, see For developers: Tracking consent client-side API.


Was this article helpful?